Newsletter No 14: February 2018

Newsletter No 14: February 2018

Ride Update

Know the Ride Rules

Registration Update:

Team Managers and individual team members or potential members should be organising to register your Teams and individuals NOW.  Go to the M2M Website for details.

Final Closing Date for Registrations is Thursday 29 March 2018.

Reminder:  All Riders, Drivers and Supportersmust be registered by the closing date.  We have 10 weeks until the ride so if you have not commenced organising your team.  Now is the time.

Currently we have 34 Teams registered.

The Early Bird Registration Prize will be drawn at the next M2M Board Meeting.

Ride Update: 

Team Captains:  Please ensure your members are registering and please send these Newsletters out to all your team members - being informed in a timely manner is vital to any efficient organisation !

Rapid Relief are again willing to support the riders and supporters with refreshment stops on the Echuca and Swan Hill rides, details are to be confirmed.  Beulah Primary school have also provided a fantastic dinner stop on the Mildura ride and we expect this to happen again this year.  We will send out details ASAP. 

Hamilton Compulsory Stop:  The Hamilton Show Grounds will again be the compulsory stop and all teams MUST register at the showgrounds once you arrive.  Refurbished showers and toilet facilities will be available opposite the Show Grounds at the Hamilton Aquatic Centre.  Accommodation is available at the Hamilton Sheep Judging Pavilion within the precinct.

Ride Rules Update:

Vehicles following a group of riders should be straddling the edge of the road - not sitting out in the middle of the road.  This makes it much safer for vehicles wanting to overtake to see down the road and to see when it is safe to overtake.  It also helps other riders to move through slower groups ahead

Cyclists should help others when riding in groups on the road. That is to point out hazards, potholes, slower riders ahead, etc.  Some less experienced riders need to learn the correct cycling etiquetteand the more experienced riders should be reinforcing these skills.  Make sure you keep your eyes on the road and riders in front of you – even when talking to other riders. Safety comes First !!

What’s on the Echuca Route: Durham Ox:

Durham Ox is a small rural locality on the M2M route from Echuca.  It is near the Serpentine Creek, a tributary of the Loddon River.  This is a highly valuable natural resource to both the local tourism and agricultural economies.

At the 2016 census, Durham Ox had a population of 74. This small but vibrant community is widely known because of the 'OX' landmark that lies on the Loddon Valley Highway.

The 'OX' stands next to the former Durham Ox Store site which was destroyed by a fire in September 1996 and never rebuilt. Post boxes, bus stop, telephone box and a parking area also mark this spot. The name and image on the landmark are derived from the Durham Ox, a prize 19th-century bull.

Durham Ox is also listed as the safest place to live in Victoria.

What’s on the Road to Port Fairy:

Once you arrive in Port Fairyone of the best things to do is to ride around the coastal foreshore and enjoy the great seaside vistas.  These include the famous East Beach (worth a dip), ride to the Flagstaff and Battery Hill.  Enjoy the historic port and river precinct and then ride around the coastal route past the shearwater colony and the Pea Soup coastal reserve.

Flying high: Port Fairy sculptor Don Stewart and Friends of Griffiths Island management committee member Marten Syme with the new sculpture at the entrance to Griffiths Island. Picture: Morgan Hancock

Reminder:  The Herald Sun Tour will be conducted from Tuesday Jan 30 to Sunday Feb 4, 2018.  Go to

Host Towns include:  Healesville, Melbourne, Colac, Warrnambool, Ballarat, Mitchelton Winery, Nagambie, Lake Mountain, King Lake.

Honour Roll:  2011 to 2017

2017 Damien Howson (South Australia)

2016 Chris Froome (Great Britain)

2015 Cameron Meyer (Western Australia)

2014 Simon Clarke (Victoria)

2013 Calvin Watson (Victoria)

2011 Nathan Haas (Canberra)

Registration Timetable:

Normal Registrations:  Open 17 December, Close 29 March 2018